Geography of Australia

Geography of Australia
Located in the southern hemisphere, Australia is the smallest continent in the world and is truly the most wonderful destination.

Australia is one of the largest islands, amongst the six largest countries as well as known as the smallest continent in the world located in Oceania between the Indian Ocean and the South Pacific Ocean. Australia is home to many popular landmarks such as the Sydney Opera House and the Harbour Bridge both located in Sydney and even the popular carnivorous marsupial creatures known as the Tasmanian Devils. The Great Barrier Reef which is the largest coral reef complex situates just off the eastern coast of Australia.

Australia is one known as a large country, smaller compared to the United States of America however larger than the United Kingdom. The Australian mainland is mainly coastlines with additional island coastlines and the country has the largest area of ocean jurisdiction that has no borderlines. The western half of the country consists of a region that is generally flat with ranges of mountains breaking the regions. This region is famously known as the Western Plateau. The eastern coast however is the Eastern Highlands which separates the eastern coastal plain from the rest of the continent. The Central Lowlands of the country is made of the Great Artesian Basin and two of Australia’s largest river systems, Murray-Darling Basin and Lake Eyre Basin.

The continental landmass of Australia is known as the flattest, lowest and oldest in the world with a stable geographical history. Mount Kosciusko is the highest peak ever recorded in the land however when compared to other high mountains around the world, Mount Kosciusko is relatively low. Australia has never recorded any active volcanism as it is situated in the middle of a tectonic place. Despite so, Australia has recorded many earthquakes in which the highest major catastrophe recorded were measured above than magnitude 6.

During the low average of rainfall, Australia’s interior rivers will become often dry and the lakes are constantly empty. This occurs because the interior land of the continent is arid. The headwaters are mostly located in the tropical regions as it has the highest discharge rate during the summer rains. The Great Artesian Basin is the largest and deepest fresh water basin as well as the most important source of water for the country. Australia’s waterfall is comparatively insignificant because of the low lands of the country when compared with other waterfalls in other countries around the world.

Altogether Australia consists of six major states, the New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia. The two major territories in Australia are the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory. Many mistaken that cities of Australia such as Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide and Perth are considered as states of Australia when naturally they are more known as the major cities of the country. Australia too has several minor territories as the federal governments decided to separate an area in New South Wales called the Jervis Bay Territory to set up the country’s naval base and sea ports.